3.2     Users and Roles

Descriptions of Users and Roles are described in Sec.2.4.  Each Role defines a set of available operations. Only one role can be assigned to a user account.


The list of operations to be restricted,  such as reading  and writing the configuration (and more), are shown in Sec. 7.3. In this section, we focus on the screen-by-screen operations.


3.2.1   Creating a Role

Click on the Settings menu → Roles. In the Add a role field, enter a name for the desired new role, and click .

  

blob1477695567734.png


Now select the desired permissions for the new role by toggling the checkboxes next to the specified role permissions. If the toggle is on, the permission to run the operation is granted to the user. Click OK when complete. 


blob1477695594180.png 

Below is the list of permissions that can be set.

1

Permission to view compliance rule sets and policies.

1.1

Permission to create/update/delete a compliance policy.

1.2

Permission to create/update/delete a compliance rule set.

2

Permission to view device configurations.

3

Permission to administer credentials and protocols.

4

Permission to create/update/delete device information in the inventory.

5

Permission to assign names to custom fields.

6

Permission to tag/untag devices in the inventory.

7

Permission to view configuration drafts.

7.1

Permission to create/update/delete configuration drafts.

8

Permission to administer scheduler filters.

9

Permission to run a backup job.

9.1

Permission to create/update/delete a backup job.

10

Permission to run a device discovery job.

10.1

Permission to create/update/delete a tool job.

11

Permission to run a tool.

11.1

Permission to create/update/delete a tool job.

11.2

Permission to approve a tool job execution.

11.3

Permission to run a tool job without approval.

11.4

Permission to run a Smart Change job.

11.4.1

Permission to create/update/delete a Smart Change job.

11.5

Permission to run a tool that changes a device configuration.

12

Permission to run a report.

12.1

Permission to create/update/delete a report job.

13

Permission to run a restore job.

14

Permission to run a neighbor collection job.

14.1

Permission to create/update/delete a neighbor collection job.

15

Permission to create/update/delete URL launchers.

16

Permission to create/update/delete memos.

17

Permission to create/update/delete managed networks.

18

Permission to create/update/delete Zero-Touch configurations.

19

Permission to create/update/delete Zero-Touch templates.

20

Permission to administer security settings.

21

Permission to create/update/delete inventory tags.

21.1

Permission to login using the terminal server proxy.

21.1.1

Permission to automatically log in directly into enable mode. 

22

Permission to view other users’ terminal proxy logs.

* Some permissions have dependencies.

* Depending on the product license used, some items may not be displayed.


Additional details for specific permissions in Sec. 73, p232.


 

3.2.2   Creating a User

Click on the SettingsUsers. Click  to add a new user.

 

 


The Add User dialog box includes three options: General, Networks, and Custom Fields.

 

In the General option, you add the user name and details.


  


Menu Items

Description

Username

Enter the login username for user.

Full Name

Enter the full name of the user.

Email Address

Enter the user’s E-mail address.

Role

Select a role for the user from the drop down list.

Password

Enter a login password of the user.

Confirm Password

Retype the password to confirm.


In the Networks option, you can limit access to specific netLD networks if desired. To restrict user access to specific networks, check the Restrict user’s access to the following networks box and then check the networks that you want this user to access.

 


Similarly, in the Custom Fields option, you can select the custom fields that a user can view.

 


Press the “OK” button to save the created user.



3.2.3   Quick Password Change


When logged in, you can quickly change your password. Press your login username in the global menu. In the example below, the username is admin.



Enter your new password in the New Password and Retype Password fields. Press the Change Password button to save the new password.